FUN WITH FRINGE SEWING & EMBROIDERY

You may well have played with our FRINGE FOOT at some time or other??  This allows you to zig-zag or satin stitch over the raised bar in the middle of the foot to create loopy stitches. You can then stitch down along an edge or down the middle of these loopy stitches to secure them. Finally cut  the bobbin threads on the back & the stitches  bloom out to form a fringe. This can be used for a number of applications such as decorative embellishment; animal fur or doll’s hair; 3D flowers, etc.

JANOME FRINGE FOOT
FRINGE FOOT

See your local ELNA dealer to purchase the FRINGE FOOT  applicable for your machine:

  • Part #  941660000  for front loading machines
  • Part #  200016108  for high shank machines
  • Part # 200017109  for top loading machines

pied à frange

Example of rows of fringe stitching using the above FRINGE foot
Example of rows of fringe stitching using the FRINGE foot shown above
  • You may also see the Fringe foot in action at:

http://www.janomespecials.com/mc11kse/video/fringe-foot-eyelash-fringe.html

frange lion

You may take this a step further as at least one of our ELNA EMBROIDERY machines has built-in fringe designs.  An applicable model would be the EL860. Allow the ELNA embroidery machine to do the fringe embroidery for you in the hoop . Just clip the bobbin threads after the design has stitched.

 

123

Flowers on the EL860 ……stitch them out & play with your options!

 

The above flowers were shown by Trevor Conquergood in his software workshop series. You may visit www.sunsetstitches.com  to find out more. This particular fringe embroidery technique was covered in DW17-02-DigiTalk17b.

frange Trevor

I made this wall hanging using the little fringe flowers on the JANOME MC12000 in the top & bottom borders. I then played with the same fringe flower in our JANOME DIGITIZER MBX software to enlarge it to almost fit the whole SQ14 hoop.  Just goes to show how much fun you can have with software 7 embroidery!!!
I made this wall hanging using the little fringe flowers on the EL860 in the top & bottom borders. I then played with the same fringe flower in our JANOME DIGITIZER MBX software to enlarge it to almost fit the whole SQ14a hoop . Just goes to show how much fun you can have with software & embroidery!!!

Acknowledgements to my co-worker, Celine Ross of Montreal, for part of this blog post. I used her pics and wrote my own version about fun with fringes as I just could not get translation software to work.  Sadly, I am unable to translate Celine’s words as I only did one year of French at High school and that was a rather long time ago! However, I am working on getting the software to co-operate so that I can bring you English translations of other wonderful blog posts that Celine has been doing on La vie chez Janome which is the French equivalent of janomelife.  Please check out this link if you wish to see Celine’s  blog posts in French.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

