LOOK WHAT I FOUND ON MY VACATION ROAD TRIP!

Vacation road trips can be a lot of fun. I have wanted to explore the Olympic Peninsula for a long time. We tend to just drive up & down the I5 from Vancouver to Seattle but I knew there had to be something out there west of the I5 as I could see the mountains. I’m talking about Washington State close to Seattle and just south of where I live in Vancouver, British Columbia. Well, I am pleased to say that I now know what is there! Finally talked hubby into planning a road trip which effectively did a full circle of the Olympic Peninsula & The Olympic National Park.

SUMMER FLOWERS - JUST SO PRETTY

SUMMER FLOWERS – JUST SO PRETTY

No road trip would be perfect without stopping at a quilt store or 2!!

This is THE QUILTED STRAIT  which is housed in an old 100 year old building - used to be the horse stable for a hotel in the town of Port Gamble, Washington. The store was large, had a great selection of fabrics and there are NO prizes for guessing that I added to my stash at this store!

This is THE QUILTED STRAIT which is housed in an old 100 year old building – used to be the horse stable for a hotel in the town of Port Gamble, Washington. The store was large, had a great selection of fabrics and there are NO prizes for guessing that I added to my stash at this store!

This is a back issue(Spring/Summer 2012) of Quilt Sampler. This quilting store above is featured in this issue - you might like to get hold of a copy to find out more

This is a back issue(Spring/Summer 2012) of Quilt Sampler. This quilting store above is featured in this issue – you might like to get hold of a copy to find out more

Ruby Beach on the West Coast is reputed to be one of the most beautiful beaches in North America.  I agree!
Ruby Beach on the West Coast is reputed to be one of the most beautiful beaches in North America. I agree!
There was LOTS of rainforest scenery - this is, after all, the Pacific Northwest.

There was LOTS of rainforest scenery – this is, after all, the Pacific Northwest.

No visit to the Olympic Pensinsula should go without driving up the mountains behind Port Angeles to see these stunning vista's south to the Olympic Mountain range - snow capped year round - quite breathtaking.

No visit to the Olympic Pensinsula should go without driving up the mountains behind Port Angeles to see these stunning vista’s south to the Olympic Mountain range – snow capped year round – quite breathtaking. Could be the Swiss Alps, couldn’t it?

Our B&B in Aberdeen, Washington was a 1890's home decorated all in Victorian furniture and décor. This caught my eye - of course.

Our B&B in Aberdeen, Washington was a 1890’s home decorated all in Victorian furniture and décor. This caught my eye – of course.

This Victorian sewing basket was part of the décor in our room. I even borrowed the scissors briefly as I had forgotten to bring a pair!

This Victorian sewing basket was part of the décor in our room. I even borrowed the scissors briefly as I had forgotten to bring a pair!

......and the  very pretty hand quilted bed covering

……and the very pretty hand quilted bed covering

Our B&B in Port Townsend was another charming Victorian late 1800's home and I could not resist taking a pic of these quilts displayed in the dining room to share with you.

Our B&B in Port Townsend was another charming Victorian late 1800’s home and I could not resist taking a pic of these quilts displayed in the dining room to share with you.

It was just after the 4th July so was quite fitting to see this table runner on the breakfast table at the Blue Gull Inn in Port Townsend.

It was just after the 4th July so was quite fitting to see this table runner on the breakfast table at the Blue Gull Inn in Port Townsend.

lavender fields in full bloom - so fragrant & pretty. This was a first for me as I have only seen one or a few lavender bushes growing together before . Seeing fields spread out before me was really quite lovely. Naturally my brain was going over the kinds of little bags I could sew to capture all that fragrance!

lavender fields in full bloom – so fragrant & pretty. This was a first for me as I have only seen one or a few lavender bushes growing together before . Seeing fields spread out before me was really quite lovely. Naturally my brain was going over the kinds of little bags I could sew to capture all that fragrance!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

