LIZ’S PICK OF USEFUL SEWING & EMBROIDERY WEBSITES

I don’t know about you but I love to look for new sewing ideas and have found that one source of good information is to surf the web for a wide range of sewing related topics I might be looking for. I thought I would share some of the ones I have found useful from time to time.

Please be aware that we do not necessarily support or promote products or techniques found in all of these websites. Quite a bit you may “stumble” upon, may not even be Elna branded, so some of what I am pointing you towards may be “generic” information.

cropped-excellencejpg.jpg

  • First & foremost we refer you to our website: www.elna.com. Pick Canada & English on the home page.  The information & products on this website is specific to our Canadian dealers & customers but most of it is also of use to Elna customers in other countries.

EL664Pro

  • This is a very nice sewing website: http://www.sew4home.com/This often has Elna & Janome related subject matter as Janome America is a sponsor of this website. You will find project ideas & full instructions, hints, tips & techniques. Do be sure to visit http://www.sew4home.com. sew4home-head
  • If you like to learn in your PJ’s or on your own time at home, you might like to consider http://www.craftsy.com/ This website offers a wide variety of online workshops on sewing & quilting as well as many other crafts such as cake decorating & knitting etc.
  • Leah Day is a refreshing young quilter who also happens to own one of our machines.daystyledesignsbannersm She has a very candid blog & website where she leads you through her quilting journey. Her special interest is Free motion quilting. Catch her at http://daystyledesigns.com/. I do believe you will also find video’s on You Tube where you will be able to see Leah in action. I love the fact that she is a much younger quilter – I always get encouraged when I see this as I like to see the next generation getting involved in quilting…..they bring an enthusiasm & passion as well as a fresh perspective.
  • Another young person who is also very involved in Free Motion quilting is Angela Walters.                                                                                                   angela waltersShe would also describe herself as a Modern Quilter and a Long Arm quilter. I do believe she quilts for other people and has published at least 2 books that I know of. I have heard her speak in person at Quilt market and I was very impressed – she is enthusiastic, funny and very good at what she does. Catch her blog or website: http://www.quiltingismytherapy.com
  • I have often gone to You Tube to look for ideas & see a specific technique. Sometimes I need to brush up on a topic before I teach it myself – you see, I forget some things if I have not used that technique for a long time. You Tube is a great place to find stuff. One that I particularly enjoy is Jenny from The Missouri Star Quilt Company. She has had some pretty neat projects & ideas to share. jenny msqc
  • http://sewing.patternreview.com/is another source of information. Do not be mislead by the title: it is not just about patterns. There is information about sewing, machines & much more. This website does have the feel & form of a Forum and I will be honest in saying that forums are not my favourite. Frankly I do not really have the time so scroll through dozens of people’s “penny’s worth” on a topic & tend to get bored real quick. But I do know that many people frequent chat rooms & forums on a regular basis so this may very well be a case of different strokes for different folks. Go have a look – you might find Pattern Review useful.
  • If you are specifically looking for embroidery software information: try Trevor Conquergood’s website:       trevorTrevor offers regular webinars & is an expert on our Janome embroidery software as well as Artistic Sewing Suite software.
  • http://www.artisticsewingsuite.com/is where to go for information, exercises, video’s & more about our software with the cutting needles (think applique, scrapbooking; NO need for Acuquilt cutters anymore! etc) and the crystals & rhinestones (think crystal parties & bling ) combined with your software or on their own. NO need to spend hours applying crystals one by one with a hot applicator. kingofdiamonds
  • Most magazines have their own websites where they offer information about projects found in their magazines and or patterns, designs to download etc. Check out the following: Threads magazine; Sew News magazine; Creative machine Embroidery magazine; Quilter’s Connection magazine; A Needle Pulling Thread magazine. I am quite sure there are many others I could have listed but you get the idea – look up your favourite magazine’s website and/or blog to get even more than what’s on your magazine pages.
  • Here in Canada we have a national Quilting organization called Quilt Canada. Check out their website as well as the link to their blog for news about quilters & quilt events in Canada as well as their annual quilt shows which move around our beautiful country each year – next year it will be in St Catherine’s/Niagara in Ontario. Will I see you there?

 

QuiltCanada2014-logo

Would you like to share your favourite sewing & embroidery websites with us? Send a comment & I will add your suggestions to this post.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

