GARMENT SEWING???? HERE’S A REVIEW OF SOME GREAT PATTERNS TO INSPIRE YOU TO SEW

Are your fingers itching to sew? Do you sometimes (or often?) feel like you just have to sit down at that ELNA sewing machine or you might go crazy? Well not literally but you know what I mean!

I thought I’d share a few patterns that recently came across my sewing table.  The first three were in my goodie bag from the Schmetz Needles Blogger’s Bootcamp (at SEWEXPO) &  the Sewing Workshop Collection patterns have long been a favourite of mine and I finally got around to making up 2 of them for the first time.

ANGELA WOLF – THE ANGEL BOOTCUT JEAN

I will confess that I have not made up this pattern yet but it sure looks stylish and professional. I have checked out Angela’s website – you might like to do the same…..lots of exciting stuff going on.  No excuse for me now that I have a jeans pattern…..up till now I have just muttered and moaned when I had to go shopping for jeans as it really is quite hard to get a pair that fits perfectly. I was reminded recently of the knowledge & tools I need to alter the pattern to fit me perfectly when I did Jan Bones’ class on Pattern Design Magic – WOW , good class: I learnt this decades ago but it was SO very good to have a refresher and reminder of what to do & what not to do when you size the pattern BEFORE cutting the fabric.

jeans pattern

PAT BRAVO CAPRI BAG. This looks like it will be one of those comfy, practical and very favourite bags. Great presentation for a pattern with not only the envelope of paper patterns but also a PDF on a CD. This is a 45 page step by step with pics & diagrams of exactly how to make the bag……VERY cool.  I will definitely be making this bag as soon as my super crazy work schedule lets me catch my breath & do some sewing!

Capri bag 2

SAF-T-POCKETS:  T-SHIRT TRIFECTA. I have one or 2 other Saf-T-Pocket patterns and these are very well designed with easy to follow instructions. I have a large collection of knit fabrics that I have been collecting. (I LOVE wearing and sewing with knit fabric) so I am very keen to make up this T shirt in one of the knits waiting in my sewing room. In fact, I have already cut it out and it is waiting for me to sew up when I get a little gap and muster up some energy!  So, in my books, this Trifecta T-shirt is almost half done?!

Do you perhaps do what I do? When we are watching TV, I sometimes cut out a bunch of garments on the floor (that’s like a bit of a yoga workout) and then I sit at my ELNA serger later to quickly run them up. That is what is SO good about knits: they are SO quick & easy to sew…and comfortable to wear.

Trifecta T

SEWING WORKSHOP COLLECTION:

Ann’s Cardigan & Tank

My first attempt at making Ann's cardigan. I was pretty pleased with it and already have another 3 cut out to make when I have time to sit & sew.........a rare commodity!
My first attempt at making Ann’s Cardigan. I was pretty pleased with it and already have another 3 cut out in different fabrics to make when I have time to sit & sew………a rare commodity lately!

ANN’S CARDIGAN: Oh do I like this pattern or what?? I modelled several of these Ann’s Cardigans that Marilyn & Barb of THE MATERIAL GIRLS (of Victoria, BC) made for their Fashion shows at the Victoria & Abbotsford shows. I have had this pattern since last year but had not made it yet. Well, I am happy to tell you that I made it up between the 2 BC Spring Sewing Shows & just LOVE it.  I used a black, white, grey & red knit fabric and it is just lovely to wear. I have had many compliments which is a good thing, right?  See pic above. I will very definitely be making more. In fact, I have already cut out another 3 and they are ready to be serged next time I have some sewing-at-home energy!

Stella & Luna Tops

STELLA & LUNA – I made this one up during my Easter weekend sewing fest. I made the Stella which is the one on the left with the cowl & Y seam on the front…….don’t run for the hills screaming!  The instructions on the pattern sheets for doing the Y seam are actually quite good and it worked first go for me – no reverse sewing so I was cool with that.  I always like to make a new pattern with a not so very special fabric first  – like some suitable fabric but that which I got on a sale and I’m not going be very upset if a new pattern I try for the first time ends up not being a favourite that I use over & over. There are bound to be tweakings I will want to make for the second time I use the pattern.  I have worn this top a few times and I will definitely make a smaller size next time as it is too loose for me. I have worn it with a big brown belt to “cinch” it in a bit. There is a lot to be said for loose, comfortable clothing. But there is also fine line between loose fitting and ugly “baggy” – right? I will use my newly refreshed pattern alteration skills to narrow the sleeves quite a bit as well as I do prefer slimmer fitting sleeves.  This is a pic of my first version of Stella:

Stella top in a funky bold knit print. Note the lovely drapey cowl neck and v insert on the front.
Stella top in a funky bold knit print. Note the lovely drapey cowl neck and V insert on the front. With LACE being SO big currently, imagine this top made with a soft drapey stretch lace in the cowl neck & V front section + maybe the sleeves too & then a plain black knit for the rest? I think that would be stunning. Of course you could wear a black cami underneath for modesty or you could go bold and have a sexy black bra showing off your assets………..well take that with a pinch of salt – gotta be my “outside voice” talking for a moment there!

Do check out The Material Girls brand new website….link above under Ann’s Cardigan. I think it is worth a look-see!

KEEP WATCHING THIS BLOG AS I HAVE ANOTHER POST COMING LATER THIS MONTH ON SEWING GARMENTS – I WILL BE SHARING SOME OF THE THINGS I DISCOVRED, LEARNED, GOT INSPIRED ABOUT DURING MY RECENT AT-HOME-SEW-FEST! Why don’t you sign up for the email alert every time we post something? That way you don’t have to stick post it notes on your wall or fridge………..a reminder will pop into your email inbox that one of us have shared another ELNA idea or project or technique or more with you. Don’t miss out!!!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA SERGERS, ELNA SEWING MACHINE and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

