NEW…..JUST ARRIVED: FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT!!!!!!


NEW FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT  - JUST ARRIVED
NEW FREE MOTION COUCHING FOOT – JUST ARRIVED

We are very excited about this new foot that is now available through your local ELNA DEALER. (Just arrived here in Canada). Part # 202-110-006.

This foot is compatible with ELNA  SEWING & EMBROIDERY MACHINES  (EL8600, EL9500; EL9600)and HIGH SHANK MODEL machines (EL7300; EL740; EL730; EL760, etc). Please check with your local ELNA dealer if you are not sure if this foot will work with your machine.

photo (6)

The foot comes with the Free motion hopping foot as well as TWO different FEET which screw into the metal part of the foot in the same way that the interchangeable feet for the Convertible Free Motion feet sets work.  Just take care that you do not drop the little screw…..it is tiny and you might struggle to find it on the floor!

These 2 attachments/feet are for different size yarns/cords.

Foot 1 (has the # on the plastic part) is for   yarns 1.5-2mm thick  >>> thicker yarns.

Foot 2 is for yarns less than 1.5mm thick >>> thinner yarns.

I have experimented with a number of different yarns & both foot 1 & 2.  Here are my observations & suggestions:

  1. The blister pack has instructions inside (it folds out like a book so DON’T throw it away without reading it!!). It says to use monofilament. I did use Invisible thread for most of the play time I just enjoyed. I used Sulky Invisible thread in the smoke colour. It worked just fine. I would very much like to try out Wonderfil’s INVISAFIL but did not have any here at work. As you may know, this is a fine 100wt polyester thread which comes in a wide range of colours so should work extremely well to blend and disappear into the yarn well. I am also wanting to try using a contrast thread which will, of course, be seen. I may or may not like the results…..but I have not got there yet.
  2. Do set up the machine as per Blister package instructions. Try to resist “winging it” and flying by the seat of your pants……read the instructions and it will save you time & trouble!
  3. Do try to select the correct Foot 1 or foot 2 depending on the size of yarn or cord you are using.  If the yarn is too thick for the hole in the foot, it will not feed through well and may get stuck & cause you problems. If the yarn is too thin – in other words you need foot 2 – then please switch over to that foot as the thin yarn tends to shift around  in the hole in the foot and the stitching may “miss” the yarn and not couch it down as you would like.
  4. DO drop the feed dogs as per instruction on the Blister package. You ARE doing a Free motion technique and dropped feed dogs in this instance allows you to move the fabric easier and not cause jamming up & bunching of the yarn.
  5. You do need to practice this: if you do not move the fabric smoothly or stop moving it, the stitching will “pile up” exactly as you would expect. However, now you will have caused a jam up IN the foot and you will not be able to continue without unjamming it. Ask me how I know?!  But then I was sewing with the Stop/start button and the phone rang…….So, steady and smooth movement of the fabric is the aim.  Stop the machine if you stop moving the fabric.
  6. I started off going really slowly as I was being a cautious girl. Actually I found that when I increased the speed of the machine – exactly as I would when I do Free Motion quilting – that I got better results. Maybe because I was now into my comfort zone of happy, smooth & fast Free Motion? Whatever it was, it worked and my excitement with this foot mounted exponentially!

Have fun, experiment and play with this foot. I have a strong feeling it is going to be a big success!! It is currently IN STOCK so do ask your local ELNA dealer to order it for you.

Here are some pics of my experimenting below:

I used a variegated metallic cording for this spiral with Sulky invisible thread in the needle
I used a variegated metallic cording for this spiral with Sulky invisible thread in the needle
For this one, I simply free motioned with invisible thread using a paler coloured slightly metallic cording
For this one, I simply free motioned with invisible thread using a paler coloured slightly metallic cording
Close up of the Free motion couching in the pic above.
Close up of the Free motion couching in the pic above.
Different yarns of varying thicknesses
Different yarns of varying thicknesses
close up of pic above. The green yarn did have silver 'flecks" in the yarn - it is not silver couching. I was still using the invisible thread for these samples.
close up of pic above. The green yarn did have silver ‘flecks” in the yarn – it is not silver couching. I was still using the invisible thread for these samples.
About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA EL760, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY ATTACHMENTS, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY FEET, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

