BOOK REVIEW: INFINITY QUILT BOOK

Yes, yes, I know there is nothing new about the INFINITY QUILT. It has been around for a number of years. I have done 2 smaller quilts (one white & 1 cream) which I am quite sure many of you remember seeing at shows & on my travels to your favourite local ELNA dealer’s store.

BUT, and this is a BIG “but”, The Infinity Quilt book is back. It was gone for quite some time as it was completely out of print. But it was reprinted and I am very happy to tell you that we have inventory of these books BACK IN STOCK. Ask your local dealer to order you the INFINITY QUILT BOOK (PART# IQ-QB).

IQ 1

The book is written by Ann & Kim – 2 talented Australian ladies. See their website. It contains very clear and easy to follow pics + instructions for making both the full queen size white quilt as well as the full queen size cream quilt. EVERYTHING you need to know is in this book, from how much fabric & thread to buy to attaching the binding to your completed quilt. It is a very good book – well written, good photographs & layout as well as clear and understandable instructions for every single step of the journey from cutting the first block to the point of that great sigh of satisfaction that it is COMPLETE and may grace a bed in your home!  I highly recommend this book.  Mine has been used so much that it is quite dog-eared but I don’t care….the info is good and you just never know when I might decide to make another INFINITY QUILT??

I am happy to say that I have now completed ALL the embroidery on my personal INFINITY QUILT (cream fabric with cream embroidery thread – so lots of tone-on-tone colour + shades of pink, lilac & sage green for the flowers). I have ALSO managed to sandwich all my blocks as well as the central large medallion block. NOW I am ready to quilt all these blocks…….so I am getting there. Despite taking years to get to this point, this quilt is a CLASSIC….it just does not go out of date.

 AND, of course, if you don’t like white & cream, you can always go with another colour choice.

This pic above was from waverleypatchworkers.com.au.  I have seen a black quilt with white and hot pink & orange embroidery – it was very striking and completely different. I have said it many, many times…..and here I go again: the only limit to what you can do is your imagination! I think I am right on this one.

SO WHAT ABOUT ANOTHER CRACK AT THE INFINITY QUILT ….or a first crack if you did not get involved the first time around a few years back?????

Incidentally, ask your local ELNA dealer for the equipment that is recommended in the book: rulers, Sue Box Embroidery designs, etc. We have it ALL in stock so don’t be shy…….it could be yours if you call your dealer before it all sells out again.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

