FREE MOTION FEET FOR ALL

Whenever I visit our stores and mention freemotion, it strikes fear in the hearts of many a quilter. Freemotion is like anything new, practice, practice, practice, read back in Liz’s blog for information online. And have the right tools! I always like to demonstrate the different feet for freemotion that are available. The one that has been around since the beginning is the P2 foot. It has various names, Darning, Pogo, Spring, Quilting and Stippling foot. Its available with a highshank for the EL7300; EL740; EL8600; EL9500 for example. And we also have P2 feet for the low shank machines, which would be El7200 & all the rest! If you’re not sure ask us or your local ELNA dealer.

P2 feet. Left one is the low shank, open toe, to the right is the high shank, closed toe. See the bar that sits on the needle screw
P2 feet. Left one is the low shank, open toe, to the right is the high shank, closed toe. See the bar that sits on the needle screw

You have a choice of an open toe or a closed toe. Which one you use, depends on what you’re working on. I choose the closed toe when working with a quilt that has lots of seams or a project that has things sticking up, like netting, lace or applique. You wouldn’t want the foot catch! The open toe of anything is a favourite of quilters, so its easier to see where you are going. The P2 foot has a bar that sits on the needle screw and as the needle goes down into your fabric, the presser foot goes down, holds the fabric, then ‘springs’ back up again when the needle comes up. With this foot there is no need to adjust of the foot height, just remember to put the presser foot down, unless you have a machine that beeps at you and won’t go with the presser foot up.

The newest freemotion foot comes as a convertible freemotion set. It consists of a foot holder and 3 ‘feet’. An open toe, closed toe and a clearview foot. Its available for high and low shank machines as well. The clearview foot, is perfect for echo quilting as it has lines, 1/4″ apart to help follow previous lines of stitching. It has a large base to really help flatten down seams and ‘bits’ before you get there.

Freemotion convertible feet set
Freemotion convertible feet set

And you can use a zigzag stitch as well with this foot. With this set, it is necessary and important to adjust the height of the foot in relation to your fabric as the foot does not spring up and down. Lower the presser bar and using the adjustable round nut on the right side of the foot, lower the presser foot right down to your fabric till its just grazing your fabric. I like to lower the foot until it squishes the fabric and then raise it up just until I am able to move the fabric underneath. If the presser foot is too high the thread will shred and eventually break!

I have been doing more free motion, since being introduced to Leah Day, 365 days of quilting. I love watching her videos and she has a great voice to listen to. She puts it all into prospective quilting an entire quilt, one block at a time.

Get out some of your stash, create a quilt sandwich and play. I also heard that a glass of wine and some chocolate help as well.

Happy stitching, Linda P.

various free motion feet available to you for your ELNA sewing & quilting machine

various free motion feet available to you for your ELNA sewing & quilting machine

 
About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY ATTACHMENTS, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY FEET, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to FREE MOTION FEET FOR ALL

  1. Carol Hendrick says:

    question: just got a new Elna 760 with the free motion convertible set.. the manual says NOT to stitch toward yourself when using the open metal foot. Do you know why? They seem to be calling it out as a safety issue.. But how can you free motion without going toward yourself? Hmm. Any help welcome. Love the machine so far.

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Carol,
      I’m on the road traveling for Janome & Elna but I will test this out on the EL 760 when I am back in the office next week & let you know what I discover.
      Liz
      Elna Canada

  2. Jo-Anne says:

    Hi Linda. Love reading your blog!

    Brand new Elna 7300 and today was the first fmq day. First for the machine –
    not me! I’m having a heck if a time figuring out what settings are best to not get eyelashing on the back of my quilting. At the moment I have the tension dial at 8, foot pressure at 2 and the fine tension adjustment all the way to the left. 8 is ridiculously high – what am I missing?

    Any suggestions you have would be truly appreciated. Thanks so much!

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Jo-Anne,
      Have you been to your local Elna dealer to receive your owner’s lessons yet? That would be a wise thing to do.

      If you are getting eye-lashing – I think you are referring to loops underneath – then you either do not have the needle thread correctly threaded in ALL guides from spool to needle and/or the bobbin area threaded correctly. Please check this all thoroughly.
      I would also like to recommend you purchase the BLUE DOT or QUILTER’S bobbin case. I would not ever try to do free motion without it. It has a lower tension than the regular red dot bobbin case that came with your machine so will not pull the top thread down to the back. It appears you have increased the top tension way up – not necessary with the blue dot bobbin case.
      Not sure what you mean by fine tension adjustment? Which knob are you referring to?
      I seldom change the presser foot pressure and would only do this for very thick quilt sandwiches or slippery, thin fabrics anyway.
      You do not say what sort of fabric, needle & thread you are using. All these factors can affect your results.
      You can do a search on this blog for blue dot bobbin case and read up what I have written many times about this bobbin case. It is
      invaluable for free motion.

      There is always a learning curve with any new equipment so do persevere. And get your owner’s lessons no matter how experienced a sewer/quilter you are. It will prevent frustration. Having said this, the EL7300 is a pretty easy machine to use and you should be fully “up & running” soon!

      Liz
      Elna canada

      • Jo-Anne says:

        Thank you for your reply Liz. From what I understand, the dealer from whom I purchased the machine does not offer owner lessons. Is this a required part of being a dealer? It would be helpful to have one but to be very honest, this dealer is a very small fabric shop and they have much less experience at quilting that I. I have taken a quilting class there though and might contact their quilting instructor.

        My 520 was such a breeze to FMQ with – a breeze and a joy almost right away. While piecing with the 7300 has been perfect, the FMQ part has brought me to tears. But I’m a rather sensitive type 🙂

        Last night I had a good sit down with the 7300, re-threaded everything and started over, making notes as I went as to which settings did what. I was using quilting cotton front and back with warm and natural batting. My needles was a Schmetz quilting one (90/14) and I was using a 50wt poly-cotton thread as I didn’t want to waste my Auriful.

        I had completely forgotten that I have the Elna blue dot bobbin case – this is what happens when you have too many notions! I’ll definitely be trying that and I’ll switch to a cotton thread. I will definitely have a look for your posts about the blue dot bobbin case as I’d like to learn what makes it different from the regular one.

        Thank you again Liz. I’m thrilled to have found your blog. I’m one of few in my modern quilt guild that uses Elna’s and it’s nice to have someone to read about a brand of machine that I’m super fond of.

        Best,

        Jo-Anne

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Jo-Anne,

        I cannot speak for any of the other countries (not sure where you live), but here in Canada we do expect our dealers to give owner’s lessons to folk who buy machines from them. Most machines do not require a lot of tuition as our machines are so incredibly user friendly. But some issues are solved or simply do not arise when the dealer ensures the customer is familiar with threading & operating the machine when it is new to them. Makes sense, I think. There is also the manual as well an Instructional DVD with some models. We also offer this blog , in part, to “round out” the education and assistance with the machines.

        Please be aware that the blue dot bobbin case for your EL520 is not the same one you would use for the EL7300. This is because of the thread cutter on the EL7300. Part # for EL520 is 202006008. Part # for blue dot bobbin case for EL7300 is #200445007.

        Happy sewing.
        Liz
        ELNA CANADA

      • Jo-Anne says:

        I’m so glad you told me there was a difference in the blue dot bobbin cases otherwise I would have tried my old one tonight! I’m also here in Canada, Vancouver in fact. I just called my local dealer to ask about ordering the bobbin case as well as the owner lessons that I’m to understand they should offer.

        I’m confident it will get sorted eventually and am reminding myself that it’s quite possibly operator error (getting used to a new machine) rather than the machine itself! I’ve also left a message with a local FMQ instructor to see if she’s able to offer some short one-on-one time. She’s very well known for her FMQ.

        I’ll stop by with an update once it all gets sorted and I’m back in the saddle again. I’m guessing that you’re back east – I do hope you’re managing the weather alright and keeping as warm as you possibly can!

        All the best.

      • lizafrica says:

        Hi Jo-Anne,
        No, I am this side of the continent too. So nice to have sun these last few days but bracing myself for the rain coming tonight. But rain is quite do-able. No complaints as we don’t have what Central & Eastern Canada are currently dealing with!

        Yes, I am sure you will be all sorted out real soon, past the learning curve & merrily free= motioning to your heart’s content!

        Liz – Elna Canada

  3. Karv says:

    Will any of these freemotion darning foot fit elna 2004?

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Karv,

      It Is best to speak to your local Elna dealer but yes, we definitely have free motion/Darning feet for this Elna model. You need to ask for a LOW shank free motion foot – either a hopping foot or a Convertible spring loaded foot. Both will work on your machine.

      Liz
      ELNA CANADA

  4. Hi – I have an Elna 9000 that still works like a dream – absolutely beautiful stitching. However, I am desperately searching for a darning foot for it, or another foot that will work on it, for free motion quilting. Can you help? From talking to a technician and also searching online, it seems feet for the 9000 are rather unique. Please help! 🙂 Thank you!

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Sheryl,

      I am away from the office and my list of all Elna models but I am almost sure the Elna 9000 was a model made in Switzerland. I think it goes that far back. You would know as it usually has a little tag on the back or under the machine. If so, I am sorry but we cannot help you as we only carry feet, accessories and parts for the Elna’s made by us from a certain time point onwards.
      I don’t know if you live in Canada or elsewhere but you will have to go online and search for a supplier of parts for these machines. If in Canada, Sewing Machine Services in Toronto may be able to assist you.

      Liz
      ELNA CANADA

  5. Hi Liz,
    I have an Elna 9000 that I love. Still stitches beautifully . . . but I want to learn free motion quilting and it seems the 9000 has very unique foot attachments. Will any of these fit the 9000?
    Thank you!

  6. cindy says:

    HI i am very new to sewing and i have an elna 520 and i am trying to free motion my quilt i am using a clear thread for the top but having issues with either being to loose on top and i adjust it and then to loose on the bottom i was wondering if you can tell me the the exact thread adjustments i need to make. i am trying to finish up 3 quilts i am doing. thanks

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Cindy,

      Your Elna Dealer where you purchased this EL520 as well as most quilting stores would be able to advise you on Free motion technique and maybe even enrol you in some beginner classes? By clear thread, I believe you mean invisible thread? Unfortunately not all clear threads are the same quality so if you happen to be using a poor quality, nylon invisible thread, I am not surprized you are having tension issues. Some nylon threads stretch and it is really tricky to get a good result. As a beginner, I would recommend you to stick to cotton or polyester sewing/quilting threads until you are comfortable with your free motion.
      But do check you have the thread correctly threaded and engagaed in ALL thread guides including the tension discs and also the bobbin area. Just one small “miss” and your tension will suffer.
      It might be wise to ask your dealer for some owner’s lessons on how to thread and operate your machine to double check you are doing this correctly.

      Liz
      ELNA CANADA

Leave a Reply

