BOOK REVIEW: FREE MOTION QUILTING with ANGELA WALTERS

ANGELA WALTERS ON THE COVER OF HER BOOK: FREE MOTION QUILTING
ANGELA WALTERS ON THE COVER OF HER BOOK: FREE MOTION QUILTING

OK, now I am impressed by this young quilter! I signed up for one of her classes at QUILT MARKET  in Houston last October. Imagine my surprize when I arrived in the class to see this young lady setting up at the front. I mean young! Now I am not being insulting…. just remembering how I felt at Angela’s age: everyone thought I was terribly young but the advantage of this is that you generally look younger than you are for many years. However, I did have to sometimes explain to people that I was old enough to be married and to have 2 children – even if it was none of their business anyway!

OK, so Angela is a dynamic, humorous  and excellent speaker with poise and charm as well as oodles of self-confidence. She was like a breath of invigorating fresh air and she held my attention for the entire class  + I won a fat quarter bundle at the end of the class which sweetened the deal even further!

Angela has a blog : QUILTING IS MY THERAPY  – you might like to check it out? She is a Modern Quilter (more later in future blogposts about Modern Quilts) so her quilts are fresh, clean and different in the Modern quilting style.

Angela has written 2 books (see her blog for more information). Today I will review  FREE MOTION QUILTING. She has sections as follows:

  • Getting started – what you should know before you start and supplies ……very good information for everyone but particularly beginners who are not yet totally sure of what is what.
  • Next comes Quilting designs which she deals with in categories: Swirls & Circles; Squares; Lines & Vines &  Arc’s & Points.
  • Angela includes a section on Using the designs in Modern quilts – which is where her interest lies.
  • She then covers Other aspects of Modern Quilts – things that need to be considered for successful results.
  • She heads the last section of her book with the title: Still stuck? Tips for Deciding on Quilting designs……..which made me think of the book review I did on “Listen to your Quilt” last month. I think it is a valuable exercise to see what different quilters have to say and then make a composite in your head (or a notebook OR on your iphone or ipad for the truly modern amongst us!) so that you develop your very own strategy for dealing with your quilts when it comes time to do that somewhat dreaded “quilt as desired”. I truly believe that once you have a strategy, have learnt the basics by practicing often and well; you will really have no need whatsoever to fear the quilting of your quilts.

I found her book clear, easy to follow and well written.

What do you think? Have you read Angela’s book? Have you got some hints & tips to share about quilting your quilts on your ELNA SEWING  MACHINE? …..modern or traditional or art??? Please send us your comments below……..we love to hear from you.

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

