INTERNATIONAL QUILT MARKET REPORT BACK #1

I have just returned from my very first International Quilt Market in Houston.  I have wanted to go for a number of years and I finally made it there this year! I have so much to share so I think I will do it in “bite size” pieces so do watch for more snippets coming your way in the coming weeks.

Close up view of a quilt exhibited at International Quilt Market & Festival by Terry Aske of New Westminster, BC. Terry has titled her quilt: “Floating, Drifting, Falling”. This quilt was part of the Fibre Art Network of Western Canada’s Exhibit.

For those who are not familiar with this show: International Quilt Market is a trade only show. The show that is open to the public is INTERNATIONAL QUILT FESTIVAL  which opens after the trade only market has closed. The show closes & reopens to the public a day or 2 later.  This show is certainly the largest Quilting show in North America: previous stats reveal that about 50-60,000 people attend. There are 3 parts to it: the exhibition of quilts ; the Merchant Mall; and the classes. I managed to attend a bunch of short classes & promotional presentations as well as seeing pretty much all the various quilt exhibitions. The show is held all in one venue: The George Brown Convention center in downtown Houston. I thought Houston was a sparkling, clean city with  impressive high rise buildings and lots of green spaces too.

The Merchant Mall was the largest I have encountered to date: I think it had 24 super long aisles of a wide variety of merchants from fabric manufacturers to sewing machine brands to pattern and book publishers and much more. I am told that the floor area of the merchant mall is about the same size as 3 football fields!! It took me the best part of 2 full days to be sure I had seen & talked to all those who I wanted to gather information from.

My charm pack freebie

I was invited to attend a reception of the Houston Modern Quilt Guild and at this meeting – which was more like a networking type cocktail party – I was approached by a representative from Windham Fabrics: Jennifer,  who handed me a charm pack of the glimma fabric line by Lotta Jansdotter. She asked me to please mention her company on my blog. I agreed to do this….seemed a fair exchnage for a free charm pack!  The fabric line would be one suitable for Modern quilts so I am not surprized this was the one chosen as the evening freebie.

Yours truly at the Modern Quilt Guild reception in Houston, Texas

There were incredible gift baskets given out as door prizes (huge stabilizer, fabric & thread bundles) but I am sad to say that my # was not drawn! Oh well, you can’t always win can you?

I also attended a class about Quilting Modern Quilts delivered by an energetic young lady called  Angela Walters where, incidentally, I DID win a door prize of some fabrics.  Here I learned more about the Modern Quilting movement which is rapidly gaining popularity – especially amongst younger quilters: lots of bold colours , solids, simple traditional quilting patterns given a new “modern” twist…….very encouraging to see quilters many years younger than the average age of quilters getting as excited about quilting but with their own spin & style.

My friend, Terry Aske standing next to another of her quilts being exhibited this year in Houston: this one is called Spring Beauties and was one of the quilts chosen for this exhibit focussing on Spring. Terry based her design on her own photo’s of neighbourhood tulip gardens……in New Westminster, BC

I will share more with you in the next little while so stay tuned!!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

