ELNA EMBROIDERY INSPIRATION: EMBROIDER CUTE BLOCKS FOR BABY QUILTS

I AM BUILDING A COLLECTION OF EMBROIDERED BLOCKS LIKE THIS ON MY QUILT WALL IN PINKS, BLUES & OTHER PASTILLE COLOURS…………….TO MAKE BABY QUILTS AS GIFTS FOR FRIENDS………and just because I can and love to!

Notice that the body of the sheep is an applique. I use fleece, minkee or terry towelling as the applique fabric and the result is a really cute quilt with sections that babies just love to touch! (Actually truth be told: it isn’t only babies who love the feel of minkee and similar fabrics?!)

Here is a completed quilt using 6 blocks and polka dot flannel fabric for the sashing.

One thing I have found is that if you omit the batting when sandwiching the baby quilt, and use minkee or fleece for the backing fabric, the result is a much softer, cuddlier quilt  – which is what we want for babies.  Try it….you may like it as much as I do.

The embroidered blocks may be done on the ELNA 9500 or Elna 9600 using the SQUARE 8 inch hoop. Similar embroideries can, of course, also be done using the B hoop or 5×7 inch size hoop on the ELNA 8200; 8300; 8600 OR 820 embroidery machines. The blocks will be rectangular as opposed to the square one I used, and will be smaller so more blocks may be needed for each quilt…….but it is still very do-able.

NOTE THE DIMPLE MINKEE BACKING ON THIS QUILT.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, EMBROIDERY PROJECTS WITH ELNA, QUILTING, QUILTING PROJECTS WITH ELNA, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

