SEWING IN THE HEAT……I AM…ARE YOU????

YES, I know it has been way hotter in other parts of the country to Vancouver, BC so don’t get all cranky with me…….but this last weekend was just ridiculous in my house.  I am quite sure I could have cooked an egg on my wooden diningroom table!  Forget the stove – WAY too hot to turn it on. Many of you know I was born in Africa. I lived in 5 different cities & towns in 2 different countries. It sure got VERY hot in summer in most of these places. But in all seriousness, I am not sure I have ever been as hot as the couple of times we have had a heat wave in BC. My conclusion is that our homes here are built for the winter with mega insulation. However, they just turn into sauna’s in the summer heat.  In Africa, most homes are built to keep the heat OUT and are actually much cooler. Oh well, I’m not buying an air conditioner for maybe 10 days each year…….so I will just continue whining about the heat. Don’t pay any attention to me!

So….despite the heat in my sewing room, I did sew for my little one’s “big girl” bedroom. Here are 2 pillow cases that will join the fitted sheet for her toddler bed.

Didn’t have any pillow forms here at work so just draped them over my ironing board for the pic – but you get the idea?

Apart from the embroidery and the top stitching at the join of the contrast fabrics, these pillow cases were made ENTIRELY  on my EL 945 serger  using the 4 thread program. Of course, I could have used my EL 7300p OR EL740 eXCELLENCE  to sew the seams and neaten all raw edges but why would I when it is SO MUCH FASTER & NEATER  when this is done on a serger?  Whizz, whizz, whizz around 3 sides of the pillow case & it is almost done.

I digitized my little one’s name using  my DIGITIZING software.  I used First Grade font and made the letters large at 2 inches high. I decided to switch the stitch fill from satin stitch to embossed fill as I thought the “loops” of the satin stitch would be too big with such large lettering. Her drapes are white polka dots on grey (Grey is SO much the “in” colour for home decor this year – isn’t it?) so I chose one of the circles embossing fill. I was quite pleased with the result.

DIGITIZING – circles embossed fill and First grade font.

Next on my home sewing agenda is a quilt for her big girl bed: My daughter has picked the pinwheel block. So we will be using various prints in grey, lilac & yellow with white background for these. Fortunately, with it being so hot, I don’t have to have the whole quilt finished by next week! I can work steadily over the next while until it is done. Fortunately I also have a super quick way to piece these blocks so when I get more organized with the quilt, I will share this technique with you.

Just a try out block before I continue. One thing I know right away is that I have to go shopping for white fabric. This white is wrong when put next to the white in the background of some of the prints – that is off white so I’ll need to find a closer shade of white. Oh dear….there is a real hardship: shopping for more fabric!!!!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

