HOT SUMMER NIGHTS

Well, I’m not too sure about you but these hot summer nights are real difficult to get to sleep – especially when the pillow case is made from some nasty poly fabric that seems to stick to your neck!

So I decided to raid my stash and make a couple of pairs of 100% cotton pillow cases for immediate use………. A girl has gotta get her beauty sleep!

pillowcase set #1

I made 2 sets of pillow cases from fabric in my stash – in less than an hour…..YES….you can do that too. I used my ELNA SERGER  to breeze along the seams and then moved to my ELNA 740 EXCELLENCE to top stitch the contrast panel and to ditch stitch the binding on the open end of the pillow.

2nd set of cotton pillow cases

open edge of pillow case bound just like you would for a neck or sleeve opening or at the top of a tote bag.

Of course, I could have embellished the contrast (paler fabric) panel with a pretty embroidery or a personalized monogram, name or applique, etc. I chose, in this case, just to whizz through 4 pillow cases in under an hour so that I could switch to cooler cotton in this hot weather.

But what about funky kiddie pillow cases with their name or favourite item embroidered  ……their very own special pillow case. Be sure to make more than one or they will not want them to go into the laundry basket!!

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

