INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING THE LILAC ZIPPER PURSE

SUMMER SEWING project #1: LILAC ZIPPER PURSE

zipper purse made from “Liz’s Lilac Lines” embellished fabric

I can make a purse like this in 10-15 minutes……NO kidding. Once I have the fabric prepped & cut, I can insert the zipper, top stitch it; do the side seams & bottom corners in literally 10-15 minutes. This is, in part, due to the fact that I have lost count of how many of these little baggies I have made – It must run into many 100′s over the years.

Let me show you how to make the 10 minute baggie:

Cut the embellished fabric to the size you want for your baggie. Mine was approx. 16 x 10 inches.

I like to use a NYLON zipper at least 2 inches longer than the top edges og my bag. lay the zipper right side down to right side up of fabric- one of the top edges. Use your REGULAR ELNA sewing foot A with the left side of the foot riding along the edge of the teeth in the middle of the zipper. Use a straight stitch in the far left needle position – that works well.

showing where to stitch

Top stitch the zipper either before you do the second side of the zipper or after (either is fine). I usually use the feather stitch but any pretty sticth with a sticth width of betwen 5 & 7 will work: make sure ALL the layers of fabric and left side of zipper are facing to the left as in this pic. Sew with the right side of the ELNA A foot against the teeth of the zipper. Everything is right side up. This effectively top stitches the zipper so it lays flat AS WELL AS neatening the raw edge of the seam inside the bag……see why I can do it in 10-15 minutes?! Repeat for side 2 of the zipper.

Fold the bag in half right sides together and close the zipper about half way (NOT totally closed or you will sew yourself into your bag and you wont be able to get out! I usually sew the side seam towards the end of the zipper first. Line up the top where the zipper is and make sure you don’t have any tucks or folds in your side seam. Select an overcasting/overlock stitch (#22 in the Utility menu of the ELNA 740 EXCELLENCE) and sew all the way from the bottom edge of the bag right up to the edge of the nylon zipper. That’s why I like nylon as I run the risk of breaking my needle if it was a metal zipper.

Sew right up to the edge. THEN you may cut off the rest of the zipper. Don’t throw this away. I’ll tell you in a future post what I do with these ends of zippers!

For this bag, my zipper was quite long. I have put it in my “stash” – and No, I dont use is as a zipper second time around…it has no zipper pull anymore. Wait…I’ll tell next time.  Note that the utility stitch I recommended has 2 rows of  straight stitching with a sort of zig-zag between – ideal for sewing the seam + neatening the raw edge in one go! Trim the seam afterwards if necessary but don’t cut the stitching.

Repeat for the second side seam and then create “box corners” by sewing & cutting a triangle shape across each corner. Use the same utility stitch to save time and fuss.

Turn the bag out to the right side and you are done……………………how long was that? Gotta be less than 15 minutes with a bit of practice!

So there you have it: instructions for the first summer project:zipper purse……  rest is coming …HAPPY SEWING!!

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

