WHAT DID YOU SEW ON YOUR ELNA OVER THE EASTER WEEKEND???

Not sure about where you live, but the weather here in my corner of BC was rather untypical April weather……  it was glorious sunshine and quite warm. I had huge plans for a rainy weekend of sewing.  However Plan B came into effect as it was just too beautiful outside to stay indoors sewing. We went on a day trip down to Washington State to see the tulips ….well actually it was mostly daffodils as the tulips were not out yet. But very pretty nonetheless.

              

However, I did manage to complete a baby quilt + quite a bit of garment sewing for myself and a friend. I thought I would share the baby quilt with you today:

This is obviously for a little girl who will be arriving next month. Her Mommy is one of my daughter’s best friends and we are excited that this little one’s arrival is the same week as our second little grand-baby girl’s arrival date. So excitement in all the applicable families is building!

The 4 embroidered blocks are really cute. This embroidery design is a Stitchitize design and may be found on the CD of designs (the Stitchitize 1100 Collection).  However, I am sure this design would also be available for purchase on the Stitchitize website.

The body of the sheep are little appliques so you can pop fuzzy fleece or soft fuzzy towelling onto the design at that point of the embroidery stitch-out. I have made several similar quilts using this particular design and the babies just love touching the fuzzy texture of the sheep. I teamed these blocks up with soft, cuddly pink flannel with little white dots – so pretty for a little girl.

Did you know that if you want to make a really soft, cuddly baby quilt, you may omit the batting and backing and just sandwich the quilt top with a piece of fleece or minkee? This reduces bulk and stiffness and is lovely and soft. I did this here by backing the quilt with plain pink fleece. Babies just LOVE the texture of minkee and, if truth be told, I do not think it is only babies who like to touch it!

I also saved some time by making the fleece backing a little bigger than the quilt top and then I just rolled it to the front and stitched in the ditch with my DITCH QUILTING FOOT. Quick, easy & effective.

PLEASE SEE PART 2 OF THIS BLOG POST FOR HINTS & TIPS ON MAKING A SUPER QUICK & EASY BABY QUILT PROJECT WITH AN ELNA .

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY ATTACHMENTS, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY FEET, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, EMBROIDERY PROJECTS WITH ELNA, QUILTING, QUILTING PROJECTS WITH ELNA, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

