EXCITING EVENTS COMING UP SOON

Just a reminder about 2 exciting events coming up towards the end of MAY. I do not think it is too late to book to attend either of these so do check them out.

I will be attending both of the events below, so do come & say HI, bring me Show & Tell if you can (I have little gifts for any folk who bring me their actual Show & Tell items or good, clear pics of them (on your cell phone is just fine too!)

SASKATCHEWAN STITCHES CONFERENCE – this year is a real special year as it is the 10TH ANNIVERSARY. The Conference is held at St Peter’s Abbey (simply the MOST peaceful and tranquil venue: a monastery in beautiful, rural Saskatchewan) from May 24th to June 3rd. Check out their website. Haus of Stitches is one of our Elna Sewing machine dealers with many very happy Elna sewing machine owners……….come visit the store or the Conference and we can show you our sewing machines.  Wendy, Haus of Stitches owner, has a truly unique store with lots going on. The Stitches Conference is just one of the things she offers to her customers and friends from all over Canada and the US! It certainly is a major highlight for MANY sewers, knitters and crafters every year – including ME – I would hate to miss it!  I go there to teach classes; promote Elna sewing machines + meet with lots of wonderful, happy sewers. I have made friends with very special people which is a huge bonus. AND the conference is held at a monastery in Muenster, pretty close to the town of Humboldt where Wendy has her happy and “buzzing” store.  I will be at The Stitches Conference at the beginning of their May 24th – June 3rd run as I have to wing my way over to QUILT CANADA in Halifax on Monday 28th May.  Check out the 3 classes I will be teaching on 26th & 27th May – there just might be a few spots left for you to attend and have creative fun with us.

QUILT CANADA 2012: SEAMS LIKE HOME is taking place at Dalhousie University in Halifax, NS this year. It opens on Tues 29th May and runs through to Saturday 2nd June. There will, of course, be several exhibits  including the National Juried Show. Yours truly has a quilt in this year’s show!!! Yes, big excitement. I made a quilt specially for the NJS and it was accepted.  Sorry, can’t show you a pic yet but I will definitely do so after Quilt Canada – watch this spot in early June. But here is another quilt I recently completed  – seeing as I cannot show you my NJS entry yet:

HOOPSISTERS BLOCK OF THE MONTH QUILT 2011: GOOSE TRACKS. Everything is done IN THE HOOP: piecing, applique, quilting & then you just sew the blocks together. A real fun project!

In addition, Quilt Canada offers workshops from Wed 30th May to Sat 2nd June  as well as a bunch of special events. I would heartily recommend you check out the website……………it is not too late to decide to join us all in Halifax!!!

Come and visit us at the Janome Booth in the Merchant Mall. We are a major sponsor of Quilt Canada: we are supplying skid loads of sewing machines for the classrooms so that you do not have to drag your machine there. We are also sponsoring some of the quilt awards.

See you at the Stitches Conference in Muenster, Saskatchewan??

See you at Quilt Canada in Halifax??

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY ATTACHMENTS, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, Elna Sponsored, EMBROIDERY PROJECTS WITH ELNA, Fun Elna events at dealer's stores, QUILTING, QUILTING PROJECTS WITH ELNA, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

