HOOPSISTERS GOOSE TRACKS

HOOPSISTERS GOOSE TRACKS

This quilt was the Hoopsisters Goose Tracks Block of the month Program for 2011. My appreciation goes to one of my Janome & Elna dealers Tom’s Sewing Machines of Surrey, BC, Canada who graciously allowed me to purchase the program even though I could not attend the classes (seeing as I would miss so many classes when I am out of town traveling for work). Thanks Tom & Kerri! I was then able to work at my own pace as work commitments permitted so this project was started over the summer, then put aside  for work travel commitments, and I finally got back to it a week or 2 back. I completed it TODAY! I know you understand that great feeling……..the sense of accomplishment and satisfaction of having completed a large, somewhat complex project……… AND liking what you have completed is a big part of it too – WOOHOO!!

Would you believe it if I told you that I am crazy enough to have started TWO of these quilts: this one is for shows & events for Janome & Elna and another in completely different fabric colours choices is for me personally. That one, sadly, is far from complete as I just don’t have that much free time at home to work on this quilt. I do not believe that I have even reached the half way mark yet – sigh – maybe I’ll complete it during 2012?? It sure will be on my 2012 Goal Setting spreadsheet.

OK so what is so special about this quilt or wall hanging? Hoopsisters has become somewhat of a sensation with many sewing and embroidery stores offering classes and courses using their pretty unique embroidery designs. On my travels around Western Canada and checking things out online, I notice that many sewing and embroidery folk have turned to the Hoopsisters projects as it offers something a little different and fresh. Those of us who sew a LOT do tend to get a bit bored doing the same-old same-old. So when something innovative comes out, we sure check it out. Hoopsisters reckond they are taking quilting into the 21st century. I think I tend to agree. Pretty much everything is done in the embroidery hoop: that is the piecing, embellishing with decorative stitching AND the quilting. Once the blocks are trimmed they are ready to be sewn together. No further quilting is required. I used the 8 inch square hoop on the Elna 9500 simply because 5 inch or 8 inch design options were offered on this block of the month program. A friend made the 5 inch block size which is really just a smaller version of the 8 inch one I did. I added a 4 inch border around my blocks so my finished size is approx 52 inches square. The program also offers additional blocks for more complex borders as well as full instructions for expanding the quilt pattern to make it a queen sized quilt. Well, I quietly gave that the thumbs down as I knew it would probably become another of those perpetual PHD’s in my life (projects half done!).

I am happy to say that I used the Quilt Binder set to attach the binding to this wall hanging. I timed myself: it took less than an hour!

WHAT WILL YOU MAKE WITH YOUR ELNA SEWING & EMBROIDERY MACHINE IN 2012????????

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY FEET, EMBROIDERY PROJECTS WITH ELNA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

