CHRISTMAS STOCKINGS…..PROJECT IDEA.

Last week I realized my little grand-daughter did not have her very own monogrammed Christmas stocking (made by Granny, of course) so I set about correcting that!

My little one has a new Christmas stocking that I just know Grandpa is going to fill to the brim!

It only took a couple of hours to get this done: Cut up a selection of your Christmas scraps into 2 inch squares.

a great way to use up those ittie-bittie scraps

I used a piece of fusible interfacing that I drew a grid of 2 inch squares onto with a black sharpie marker. Place the interfacing glue side UP on your ironing board and lay out the 2 inch squares of Christmas fabric scraps – one in each block of your grid. You will need to figure out the area you need for the front of the stocking. Perhaps draw that onto the interfacing as well so that you cover enough & not too much area for the stocking.

Lay out all the little squares & then fuse to the interfacing: glue side up & right side of fabric up. Be sure to use an applique pressing sheet or sheet of parchment paper to protect your iron.

Now you need to cover those raw edges between all the squares: I used gold fusible bias tape. Peel the paper off the back, press down on all the diagonal lines to form a grid over the joins between the squares. Press carefully with your iron.

Gold bias tape (Clover) fused onto my stocking.......looking good so far!

For the back of the stocking, I just backed a piece of Christmas fabric with fusible batting and used my ELNA IAF foot and quilting guide bar for the diagonal stitching.

back of stocking – grid quilted

I then cut a lining for the stocking being sure that the 2 pieces were mirror imaged: ie don’t cut 2 left feet!

Join the top of one lining to the top of the front of the stocking & repeat for the back as well. Sew a 1/4 inch seam or serger across with wrong sides together.

lay out the 2 halves of the stocking + lining wrong sides together with stockings lined up the one end and linings the other end

Sew all the way around the stocking & lining leaving open a section shown here. The stocking has already been turned back to right side in this pic. REMEMBER to insert a little loop near the top of the back (just above the opening to flip) for hanging up.

stocking turned to right side. Sew the opening closed & push the lining down into the "boot". It is ready to hang up!

here is the one I made for ME - same construction method but different in that it is crazy-patched instead of 2 inch squares in a grid. Also I did loads of gold metallic dec. stitching on my EL7300 to embellish the crazypatch seams - instead of the gold bias tape on the other stocking.

close-up of decorative stitching

Monogram was embroidered with gold metallic thread on the EL9500 embroidery machine using Gothic font.

Back of my stocking - grid quilted using the EL7300 with Acufeed foot & quilting guide bar - same as my baby's stocking just a different fabric.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, QUILTING, QUILTING PROJECTS WITH ELNA, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

