ONLY 14 DAYS TILL CHRISTMAS MORNING……..HOW IS YOUR HOLIDAY DECORATING GOING???

Just thought I’d share a bit of my Christmas cheer with you: I decided to simplify this year as I just don’t seem to have the energy for the whole 9 yards! So no outside Christmas lights for the Thompsons this year……but I figure the neighbours make up for it with their pretty lights and no-one has complained yet so I’m good!

I did my decorating last Monday – don’t feel bummed out if yours isn’t done yet, it only took a few hours as SIMPLE was the key word for me this year.

My Christmas angel made for me as a gift by my friend, Jean Wells of BC

Real simple: stand a candle holder on a charger plate, arrange decorative picks around and use as a table center piece. Took me all of maybe 5 minutes to do.

Good thing my lovely giraffe is close to a heater vent: he much prefers the African heat to the Canadian cold! We have fond memories of HOT Christmases in Africa hence my giraffe and African theme pillows. The Christmas throw is real quick & easy: a cheater panel that I merely sandwiched and free motioned with a quick binding using our QUILT BINDER SET. Super quick and adds festive atmoshere to my "African" theme family room.

I just love this paper foundation pieced mantle banner. My good friend, Lynda Robson made it a few years back and I make sure I hang it up every year. Neither Lynda, nor I, are great paper foundation piecing fans so I appreciate all the more the work that went into this cute project.

My little grand daughter needed her very own Christmas stocking this year so Granny stepped up to the plate & voila: she has it made literally from scraps of Christmas fabric I had left over from other past projects. Now I gotta fill it!

What still remains to do??? Make that TO DO List and then be ruthless: go through it and scratch off only the most important HAVE TO DO things. Then you might have time to actually enjoy quality timne with friends & family this year.

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, QUILTING, QUILTING PROJECTS WITH ELNA, SEWING FUN WITH ELNA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

