ANYONE FOR ART? VISIT A DELIGHTFUL GALLERY SHOWING OF QUILTED ART

I just visited a beautiful Gallery showing of quilted artwork by Anna Hergert last weekend. Do click the link to her website where you will see pics of her quilts and other art – many of which have won awards and prizes. You will also be able to turn green with envy (like I did!) when you see the picturesque spot she and her hubby have chosen to live in Saskatchewan – with her WONDERFUL studio. Lucky lady.

My best buddy and I took the ferry to the Sunshine Coast last Saturday and then meandered our way up the Sunshine Coast Highway to Madiera Park and the home of the Fibre Works gallery where Anna currently has an exhibition entitled “Riches of my Soul”. The exhibition runs until 18th September so if you are in this area,  you might like to drop in and see what the buzz is all about.

Part of the work "Give me Time Forever"

A lot of Anna’s fabric is hand dyed by her and the above piece shows how she highlighted the feather shapes created in the dying process with stitching.

Part of the work "Morning has broken"

This wonderful piece above was obviously linked inspirationally with Cat Stevens music which was playing in the background as we wandered around absorbing the artwork.

The Gallery is pretty unique: a collection of semi-permanent structures called yurts which house the office, gallery, classroom, studio, washroom etc. I first saw these yurts on an episode of The Quilt Show when Alex Anderson visited a friend who was conducting a quilting retreat in a yurt on her property high in the Northern California countryside. They are reminiscent of Mongolian dwellings.  Check out the happenings at Fibre Works

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA IN CANADA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

