QUILT BINDER PART 3

Before I conclude the 3 part series on how to use the QUILT BINDER, I thought I had best let you know which ELNA machine models this wonderful binder attachment will work on: it ONLY  works on the following ELNA  machines: EL9500; EL9600; EL7300; EL7200 AND EL740 EXCELLENCE.

LET’S PICK UP WHERE WE STOPPED AT THE END OF PART 2:

HOW DO THE JOIN THE ENDS??
Continue attaching the binding to the quilt until you are about 6 inches from where you started. STOP sewing by doing a lock or tie off stitch and cut the threads.

Remove the quilt and the remaining binding strip from the Quilt Binder attachment. Remove the Binder attachment and base plate from the machine.

Put the bobbin cover back onto the machine and switch to either a regular foot or satin stitch foot. You certainly could use the Elna walking foot or IAF but why bother – you are only going to be sewing down the last 4-6 inches of binding. Remember……this is fun……big deep breaths!

You will now join those 2 tails of binding. This really is done in a very similar way to how you join your continuous binding.

Lay the quilt flat and fold the 2 binding tails until they meet ……but not quite: leave about 1/8 inch between the 2 ends. (see pic above)

Mark these 2 folds with a pin, fabric marker or finger pressing as this will be your sewing line so you need to see it. Cut away excess binding leaving seam allowances of approx ¼ inch.

I usually fold my quilt and pin it to take up the slack so that it is easier to work with the ends to join. 

Sew the join. I do my straight across. You are welcome to do the slant/45 degree angle seam if you prefer. I just have too little time and too many quilts so I opt for the quick option!

Press seam open. And tuck raw edges under on both sides of the quilt. Finger press these folds gently.

Pin in place. I find that putting a set of pins vertically on the back with the heads  sticking beyond the edge of the quilt & then a second set on the top works best. That way you know all edges are accounted for!

Take out pins as you go and stitch down the last section of binding using the same stitch you used previously before taking the quilt out of the quilt binder attachment.

voila - completed binding

You may press the corners and this should be enough to hold in place. However, if you prefer, tuck a little piece of Steam-a-seam 2 under the corner folds before pressing. Of course, you can slip stitch by hand but that is generally not my style.

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in ELNA 7300 SEWING MACHINE, ELNA IN CANADA, ELNA QUILTING MACHINE, ELNA SEWING ACCESSORY ATTACHMENTS, ELNA SEWING MACHINE, QUILTING and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to QUILT BINDER PART 3

  1. Pauline says:

    Love your tutorial. Does Janome have an attachment for the 9000?

Leave a Reply

